Book Review: Deceived By Heena Rathore P.

Author: Heena Rathore P.
Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publisher: Citrus Publishers
Release Date: June 24th, 2017
Format: Paperback
Pages: 350
Source: Received an ARC from the author ❤

Blurb

How well do you know your loved ones?

A girl struggling to cope with the murders of her mother and five-year-old brother.
A journalist chasing the ghost of a potential serial killer.
A thirteen-year-old girl who slaughtered her parents.
And a revenge-driven psychopath who is about to destroy everyone’s life.

After 9 years, a young writer is still coping with the brutal murders of her mother and five-year-old brother, as she moves into a house of horrors, to start a new life with her lover. Will friends and family be able to redeem Ally out of the impending doom in time? Will her infallible love become the key to the destruction of her already fragile world? Will madness prevail over love; true love over revenge?

Deceived is a gripping psychological thriller that mazes through the deepest, darkest emotions of human mind through the story of a vulnerable girl who treads in the mist of deception bred from a long unforgiven betrayal.

Review

5  Stars

Wow. This is Heena Rathore’s debut novel, but you would never think that when you read her book. She wrote Deceived so masterfully.

I know Heena for more than 2 years now, she became a wonderful friend and a kind person to know. If you don’t know who she is, go give her a visit. But now that she is about to publish her first novel, I was even more thrilled to read her book and I am so happy I did. I may not read a lot of Thriller books, but this book was amazing and scary to read.

Once the book arrived in my mailbox I was so happy to see this gorgeous cover, it made the book even more chilling and scary. I must say that my expectations for this book were met and even went beyond them.

I loved the Forward by Patrick H. Moore, a crime blogger and a writer, which clarified the difference between psychopath and sociopath. I think it was a great idea because a lot of people get confused by these terms and usually think they are the same.

This book has a very wonderful feel of Stephen King combined with Neil Gaiman to it, a beautiful mix of creepy/scary and Psychological elements. This book is dark, emotional and scary in a way that chills you to the bone.

I usually don’t like it when the POV changes, but Heena did it masterfully and it made the story flow better and even made it more enjoyable, also reading the events from the killer’s POV made it feel even scarier and twisted.

I found myself guessing who the killer is, and although I guessed right it was still a guessing game right up until the end.

Characters

Ally (Allison Stone) is the main character the story, nine years ago her mom and 5-year-old brother were murdered and she never been able to move on with her life, making things worse is her nightmares filled nights also she is being stalked by someone but won’t get any help. I really connected with Ally as she is a writer as well and loves to read a lot, but I also connected with her pain and anxiety.

Max, Ally’s dog. I would say that I love dogs a lot (a lot!) but there was a very scary part in the book about Ally’s dog Max, Thank you Heena for that mini heart attack and the tears 😀

Sam, Ally’s roommate.She is such a wonderful addition to Ally’s life and to the story.

Steve is Ally’s cousin and a journalist. His main goal is to find out the killer of Ally’s family, however, he is my least favorite character, I just couldn’t connect with him.

Danny, Ally’s boyfriend. After moving in with Danny she realized he is not the guy she thought he was.

Elizabeth the 13-year-old girl (her story is set in 1978), wow she was chilling and that story really was creepy.

The killer (which I’ll leave you to figure out who he is by yourself), was very well crafted to a very scary point.

The journal entries in the story add so much to the story, well-done Heena for writing this so masterfully, they flow and seem so real at the same time and they have a huge part in understanding who is the killer, these journal entries give us hidden bits of information.

This book is a page-turner and you will not get bored – I promise you.
Both the gorgeous cover and the story delivered on the premise of the book of leaving you by the end feeling scared and chilled by the possibilities.

As you get closer to the end, the story becomes more violent and chilling that while I was alone I read it with all the lights on, locked the door and constantly watched all the windows for any movement. There are a few big warning signs that Ally ignored and I just wanted to shake her vigorously, resulting in me shaking the book a lot, lol.

The ending is so good, but I won’t tell you more about that, I will, however, say that it was written extremely well, it was horrifying and came so quickly that I was shocked (still am).

Not all is perfect and I will say one thing that was a bit confusing to me, the names of some of the characters in the book are too similar.

To sum up everything

This book can easily be a movie thriller – easily. Everything is so well written and detailed, even the brutality was a stage to move the story and characters to where they needed to be by the end of the book.

The story, the characters and the writing all leave you wanting more and you won’t let the book down.

The cover is chilling and amazing. I know I already said this, but I had to say it again, lol.

I recommend this to everyone who likes thrillers, phycological story, mystery, and crime. But I also think that even if you don’t read much of this genre (like me), you should still give this a read, you’ll love it.

(Sorry for the long review, I guess I had lots to say, lol)

You can find the book over

Goodreads

As always, thank you so much for reading ❤

GalitLet’s chat on:

Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Tumblr

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Deceived By Heena Rathore P.

Share your thoughts...

