Older and Wiser (I hope)

 

Hey everyone, it’s been awhile since I posted anything but book reviews (sorry for that). Life has been way too busy with my mom entering the hospital every few weeks, my health, and life itself. Things aren’t so easy right now, but I’m sure they will be easier soon 🙂

On a more positive note… It’s my BIRTHDAY! TODAY! (and happy birthday to all the June girls and boys out there <3).

After I lived on this earth for a long time and I got a bit of experience in life, and because this birthday I did more thinking than celebrating, lol (my mom is in the hospital), I did a lot of thinking.

After giving a real hard thought, I managed to put down on paper a list of a few important things I’ve learned from life so far.

So here what I’ve learned so far

Be yourself: This one is hard because we all want to be loved by others and to fit in, and sometimes being yourself is going to make things very hard for you, but it’s the only way to live. So don’t try to copy other or be something else for others, it’s a hard way to live.

Be Kind to yourself and others: I always tried to be kind and nice to others even though sometimes it’s more than difficult, lol. However, being kind to myself is even harder. This one I must say I learn very late in life and at some days, I’m still struggling, especially when I’m too stressed.

Sleep: We all want to achieve a lot. We will cut our sleeping hours to accomplish more. However sleeping less makes us angry, stressed (and I speak from experience here, lol), hungry and moody. But just this simple act of sleeping 6-8 hours a day, really do their miracle.

People never change (in most cases): People are people. People can change a bit for good or bad, but they will never change as much as you might wish them to. Controlling people to change who they are or hoping they will change in the future, will never happen and this will not do any good to either one of you. Know that people are set in their own ways and they will never change just because you want them to. If a change is really needed, they need to want it and understand how and why they need to change all by themselves.

Knowing reality: I hear people around me always saying “it’s not fair” about something in their life. Life is life, and things are as they are. When you are arguing with someone, don’t use their words against them just to show them you can. Let things go… and if you must fight, fight nicely.

I’m a writer: If I ever publish my work or not I am still a writer, and no one can take that away from me. This is simple but it’s still something I sometimes struggle understanding. If in some miracle I’ll get to publish my work that would be amazing (even beyond amazing), but if I won’t that doesn’t mean, I’m not a writer. I will enjoy writing even when I’m at my 90’s.

I am a writer 😀

Now, Obviously I still need to work on a lot of things on this list and that’s okay. It was really helpful to write these thoughts down and share them with you.

What would you add to this list?

Off to celebrate (with a good night sleep, lol, I’m too exhausted), but have a nice glass of a yummy drink (of your choice) for me ❤ Thank you so much for all the thoughtful birthday wishes on my social media, you made my day!

Ps. check out this beautiful drawing Jasmine did for my birthday (she even added a glimps of my books) ❤

As always, thank you so much for reading ❤

GalitLet’s chat on:

Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Tumblr

21 thoughts on “Older and Wiser (I hope)

  1. Hello again, Galit! I read and commented on your post a while ago but forgot to say the June 6th is my eldest daughter’s birthday, too. She was 44 this year (but don’t tell her I mentioned that! Lol). So June means a lot to me, too. I popped back here after reading your newsletter and thought I’d check that I’d read this post. Keep writing! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday! Hope you had a wonderful day! I like how you included some lessons you’ve learned so far, they are all wise and so important. Sleep is super important to, you need adequate time to rest and recover 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a lovely, heartfelt post Galit and I hope you had a wonderful birthday! Being yourself and believing that you are a writer will carry you on towards your dream. Ill heath in the family plagues us all and is so hard to bear. I feel your pain at your mother’s ongoing hospitalisation and hope she is feeling well at thus time. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 😃💕
      I had a good day overall, and seeing all the wishes made my day 😃🌺
      That is so sweet hun, thank you so much. It is hard but I love her and I’m doing this with all my heart ❤
      She’s doing a bit better today 😃

      Like

Share your thoughts...

