Book Review: Shadow of the Raven (Sons of Kings #1)

My book review is up on The Reading Bud πŸ™‚

The Reading Bud

8119-Tl3n8L._SL1500_

Author: Millie ThomRelease Date: April 10th 2014
Series: Sons of Kings
Genre: Historical Fiction
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 5668
Publisher: Self-published
Source: Author (Thanks Millie!)
Buy it here: Amazon

Blurb

Thunder claps roar and Odin’s ravens fly. Dragonships set sail – and the kingdoms of Western Europe hold their breath. Warriors of Thor are on the move.

By the mid ninth century, Danish raids on Anglo-Saxon kingdoms have escalated. Several bands even dare to overwinter on the coastal islands, particularly those at the mouth of the Thames, where the kingdoms of Wessex and Mercia border each other.

The kings of these lands must put past enmity aside and take the first steps towards unity; steps they see as vital in the face of this newfound threat to their lands . . .

Alfred of Wessex and Eadwulf of Mercia are the sons…

View original post 825 more words

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Shadow of the Raven (Sons of Kings #1)

  1. Interesting comment about the names. I do not normally read fiction but decided to give it a go with Ms. Thom’s Shadow of the Raven. The names baffled me at first so I started looking at them as objects, which made it easier to follow through. By the time I had a few chapters read, the names started to flow as does the author’s ability to keep the reader absorbed in the beautiful language of the period. I continue to read the book and am about half way though right now.

    Truly a brilliant author and one that I intend to follow. I never thought I would find fiction so exhilarating and exciting but Ms. Thom has done her utmost best connect the dots between each chapter. My wife is already done reading the Shadow of the Raven and purchased Pit of Vipers, which if you read the reviews, as a figure of speech, just placed a most beautiful tiara atop Ms. Thom.

    Your review does great justice to Shadow of the Raven, by Ms. Thom. Wonderful review!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yeah I know, I am not much of Fiction reader myself but she is an amazing writer and author ❀
      Thank you so much, you are so sweet to say that about my review and I do try to be very honest with my reviews πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And honest you are! That clearly comes out in your approach, as you have the look and feel of someone who is going to be honest and straightforward in all your reviews. You will build lasting relationships with your readers as they go to your site to find out what you have to say because they will trust you. Although I already bought Millie’s two books, you did such a fine review of each one, and especially on Pit of Vipers, I would have easily purchased them from your reviews. Just so you know, you have completely sold me on Millie’s book 3 based on the Pit of Vipers review. Keep up the great work young lady. One day you will not be able to count the number of avid fan followers on your site! Keep up the great work.
        Respectfully,
        Alan McDonald

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for this great review, Galit. πŸ™‚ It’s very much appreciated. And thank you for putting it onto Goodreads and Amazon, too. I know what you mean about the Anglo Saxon names. They are odd, especially to anyone not familiar with that period of English history. Some of them can be real tongue-twisters. But, actual historical names, like events, can’t be changed, unfortunately. I often think how easy it would be to call Aethelberht just Bert and so on.
    Many thanks again for taking the time to read and review my book.:)

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts...

